Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum Page of 2 Next >>
Topic: Inuit mythology and snowbird for JB (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 03 March 2006 at 9:39am | IP Logged | 1  

Mr. Byrne, When you devised Snowbird did you research into Inuit mythology? I'm a student of world mythology myself.
Back to Top profile | search

John Byrne
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 03 March 2006 at 10:33am | IP Logged | 2  

Back during WW2, there was an embargo on the importation of foreign publications into Canada, so no American comics were legally imported. During this time, a Canadian publishing company sprang into the gap with a line of comics, in black and white, featuring some very odd Canadian characters. (One was an armless veteran called "Major Domo", who had a dwarf sitting on his shoulders acting as his arms. No, really.)

One of these characters was "Nelvana of the Northern Lights", who took her name (and little else) from an Inuit goddess. The mythology in ALPHA FLIGHT was derived almost exclusively from this. If you read between the lines, in fact, you will discover that Nelvana (the Canadian Whites character) was Snowbird's mother.

(Bit of trivia: Nelvana and her cohorts were published by Anglo-American, one of the chief competitors of the Bell Syndicate -- the latter being the same group to whom Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster had taken Superman when the American market expressed no interest. The Bell Syndicate also rejected the character, stating it had "no lasting appeal".)

Trevor Krysak
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 03 March 2006 at 10:43am | IP Logged | 3  

Never knew about all this. Interesting tale. The hidden truths behind the characters you thought you knew. Sounds like there should be a VH1: Behind the Comics series. Must be a whole pile of fun stories like this out there. For Marvel, DC and other companies.

Bob Simko