Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 28 Next >>
Topic: Ok...I am stumped (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 06 October 2006 at 5:04am | IP Logged | 1  

I agree with you Robert.  If I did it for a living, I might take it that seriously too.  But coming from those who don't, it smacks of overkill
Back to Top profile | search

Joakim Jahlmar
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 06 October 2006 at 5:58am | IP Logged | 2  

John Mietus wrote:
"Kurt Anderson wrote:
'But I can turn the Red Tornado into an M&M with no negative response whatsoever. '
'I don't know what you're talking about.
'"

LOL [literally]
This is actually the first time I looked long enough at your avatar, John, to see what it is. An MM Galactus. Devouring candy planets or what? :)

Must say, I feel a bit ashamed after reading this thread, since I just a couple of minutes ago used Tooth instead of Sabre-Tooth in another thread. Me being cute could now be me being irreverent. *sigh*

L&B,
JJ3  a.k.a.  The Mad Swede

Back to Top profile | search | www

Tom French
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 06 October 2006 at 6:18am | IP Logged | 3  

What about calling someone "old friend?"  Superheroes do it all the time.  That's about as far away from natural as conversation can get...

John Byrne
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 06 October 2006 at 6:35am | IP Logged | 4  

In another thread, I mentioned NYC Mayor Rudi Guiliani's "war" on so-called "quality of life" crimes. The graffiti vandals, the squeeqie guys, etc. The people who contributed to an overall decline in the day to day life in New York. Guiliani reasoned -- and was proven correct -- that looking the other way when these "small scale" crimes were being committed contributed to a general negative attitude toward and about the city.