You know, as a teacher, I can't teach less than the core content, and I don't
get extra time to do it: 187 days--no more, no less. I can't tell my principal,
"You know what? I don't have a lesson on persuasive writing because it's just
not ready yet. When it's ready, I'll do it."
Back to Top profile | search

John Byrne
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 20 February 2008 at 7:20pm | IP Logged | 2  

I have racked my brains trying to come up with real world jobs in which the kind of nonsense we see in comics today would be tolerated. I took much longer than expected because I was getting it right!

Only thing I can come up with is certain kinds of delicate surgery or possibly space program stuff. And, hey, comics are not brain surgery or rocket science!!

Bryan White
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 February 2008 at 7:32pm | IP Logged | 3  

I get to do desktop support work for rocket scientists and engineers and these guys get some real cast in admantium deadlines.  I guess its something about a launch window to Mercury or Pluto being pretty precise. 

Aaron Smith
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 February 2008 at 7:34pm | IP Logged | 4  

I hope they're not late shooting down that satellite.
Back to Top profile | search | www e-mail

Brad Krawchuk
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 February 2008 at 7:54pm | IP Logged | 5  

Only thing I can come up with is certain kinds of delicate surgery or possibly space program stuff. And, hey, comics are not brain surgery or rocket science!!

---

But even then, JB, the analogy falls apart. If you're in the middle of delicate surgery, they can't keep you under anasthetic indefinitely. And the space program is all about testing and retesting and working through hypotheticals before actually doing anything. That way, when ^%$*^ does go wrong, like Apollo 13, the people in charge have the ability to work quickly to solve problems because they know the systems inside and out.