Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 3 Next >>
Topic: OT: Jesus Christ: Super-Hero? (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 01 February 2011 at 8:16am | IP Logged | 1  

My wife had NEVER read a comic book before Sandman and Preacher......Philistine. She liked The Death books too.

Back to Top profile | search

John Byrne
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 01 February 2011 at 8:36am | IP Logged | 2  

Jesus was a regular in GHOST RIDER while Tony Isabella was writing the book -- at least until the Powers that Were at Marvel realized what was going on and Johnny Blaze's "friend" became somebody else.

Maybe it's time for that adaptation of the Book of Matthew I have been threatening to do for so many years now!

Don Zomberg
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 01 February 2011 at 8:42am | IP Logged | 3  

Joe Casey did an X Men story with the evil Church of Humanity, whose Pope-like leader wore a robe that featured a cross...until Joe Quesada got wind of it and ordered the symbol removed.

Paul Simpson Simpson
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 01 February 2011 at 8:57am | IP Logged | 4  

Jesus was a regular in GHOST RIDER while Tony Isabella was writing the book

++

I was pretty young back then and that one went right over my head.

All of this nonsense stems from our society giving weight to every idiot who screams " I'm Offended " no matter how stupid the so called offence.

--

(Edited to distinguish quote from response - JB)

Edited by JohnByrne2 on 01 February 2011 at 10:57am

Roger A Ott II
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 01 February 2011 at 10:03am | IP Logged | 5  

Well, of course!  Our culture is becoming way too sensitive about way too many things, so imagine how bad it will be in another 50-60 years, when everyone with a backbone will be too old to do anything about it.