Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 4 Next >>
Topic: Abortion = Felony (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 20 May 2016 at 9:11am | IP Logged | 1  

How is that misleading? The denser the population, the closer one is likely to be to a facility that provides abortions.

Back to Top profile | search

Robbie Parry
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 May 2016 at 11:18am | IP Logged | 2  

I couldn't believe it when this story showed up on my Facebook page last night. Land of the free? :/

And, yes, I concur with what has been said: it's a shame that they aren't as concerned about life when it comes to people being shot due to the availability of guns.

I'm no legal expert, but wouldn't this be unconstitutional in many ways?

Thom Price
Byrne Robotics Member
L’Homme Diabolique

Posted: 20 May 2016 at 11:23am | IP Logged | 3  

The denser the population, the closer one is likely to be to a facility that provides abortions.

Yes but that's true of everything.  Someone living in a sparsely populated area would have to travel further to get to a Wal-Mart; why wouldn't they have to travel further to get to an abortion clinic?  There is undeniable attack on women's rights and shutting down clinics, I just don't think that map is particularly reflective of it.  An area with few people just isn't likely to have an abortion clinic.
Back to Top profile | search | www e-mail

John Byrne
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 20 May 2016 at 11:29am | IP Logged | 4  

I don't know the source of the abortion clinic map, but is it really an "attack"?

Doesn't it show that for a large part of the population getting an abortion is a major adventure even without considering the various moral and physical ramification? Anti-abortionists tend to portray abortion clinics as if they are second only to ATMs in terms of availability. The truth is something else.