Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 9 Next >>
Topic: Perceptions About The Champions (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 21 July 2016 at 6:56am | IP Logged | 1  

I wouldn't count J'onn out too quickly in a fight with the Torch...

••

Neither would I.

Back to Top profile | search

Eric Sofer
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 21 July 2016 at 6:58am | IP Logged | 2  

I think that the nature of the story might determine the quality of the team up, rather than the actual heroes. For instance, Aquaman and Namor might be an interesting team up in a merfolk war (Tritonis and Poseidonis battle... and the winner gets Earth 616's Atlantis!) 

On the other hand, I'm not certain I could think of an interesting story with Hawkman and the Falcon. I'm sure there is... and the fact that I'm not a professional writer indicates that.

Also, part of the team up is that sometimes, the interesting part is not the overlap, but the complementary abilities. That's a little of what the interest in the Champions was... there was the strong guy, the knowledgable stealth person (who was also the leader), the ranged attackers (and back up strong guy), and the visually impacting flyer. Had a different writer worked on the book, and been allowed more than five characters, it could have been much more successful. Look at the West Coast Avengers... a bit different line up in what the characters brought, but still more complementing than overlapping abilities, and that was a five person team. (And interestingly, at the time, only one of the WCA - Iron Man - had his own book as well.)

Robbie Parry
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 21 July 2016 at 7:24am | IP Logged | 3  

Interesting points, Eric. I agree for the most part.