Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
Movies
Byrne Robotics > Movies Page of 2 Next >>
Topic: La La Land *Spoilers * Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 05 February 2017 at 11:43am | IP Logged | 1 post reply

Finally saw this last night.  Best move of 2016 for me.  I thought I might be put off by the musical numbers but this is an ambitious, sprawling effort full of heart.  Anyone who has ever had a dream (that's everyone, right?) should relate in some way.  Just great.

Edited by Rick Senger on 14 February 2017 at 1:58pm
Back to Top profile | search | email

Joe Smith
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 05 February 2017 at 1:17pm | IP Logged | 2 post reply

Viewed this a few weeks ago.
My Mom loved it.

I gave it everything I had, but, I found myself immersed
in the non-musical scenes. I felt cheated, like it was a
cop-out, not extending those scenes to where they could
have excelled.

I know. I know. It's a musical.

I was a professional musician for over 20 years. The
scenes where she kept needling him about his job, and he
was just trying to appease her smacked me in the junk
pretty hard. Annoyed as I was with her character's
opinion, I was even more annoyed when she SANG the answer.
Ensconced in her auditions, I was frustrated that she
broke out into song again. {Yes, that song (and
performance) was magical.}
I loved WHIPLASH, and know DC is a great director, and
that this was a great achievement. Just not my cup of meat
this time around.

My favorite musical is HUDSON HAWK, by the way.....
so, no, I wasn't put off by the opening number or the
scene in the parking lot after the party. :)

Back to Top profile | search | www | email

Rick Senger
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 05 February 2017 at 2:25pm | IP Logged | 3 post reply