Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 12 Next >>
Topic: Marvel Outdoing Themselves Again (Spoilers) (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 22 April 2017 at 12:04am | IP Logged | 1  

Because I have a subscription to Marvel Unlimited, I've read the first few issues of the new Captain America series. It is clear that this is all caused by a rewrite of history by the Red Skull, using a cosmic cube.

As a premise, I have no problems with that, and so far, I've found the story to be OK. My worry with Marvel is that everything becomes 'the next big event' and sure enough, so has this. There is no such thing as a three issue story any more. What this means is that a writer has to come up with, what, two ideas every two to three years? In the past you had six to 10 ideas per comic per year. That's one of the things I miss from comics
Back to Top profile | search e-mail

Andy Mokler
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 22 April 2017 at 12:26am | IP Logged | 2  

...floppies...

•••

sigh

I'd never heard comic books referred to this way.  Ever.  Now, it's the second time today.  Doesn't sound like a complimentary word to me.

Matt Reed
Byrne Robotics Security
Robotmod

Posted: 22 April 2017 at 12:38am | IP Logged | 3  

It's not. "Floppies" as a term for a hard copy of a comic has been making the rounds for at least a decade if not longer.  It's origins were when floppy disks were on their way out, thus a commentary on comic books in their generally accepted format being outdated.  
Back to Top profile | search

Eric Jansen
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 22 April 2017 at 3:13am | IP Logged | 4  

If it was JUST the story in progress bothering everybody, that would be one thing.  But the editor and the writer keep giving interviews saying this is for REAL!  If there's a misperception here, it's Brevoort and Spencer's fault.