Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 44 Next >>
Topic: Spider-Man - presented without comment (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 01 July 2015 at 2:08pm | IP Logged | 1  

DAN isn't getting ANY negative comments.
Marvel's point of view on how to hanndle their characters is.
Back to Top profile | search

Dan Slott
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 01 July 2015 at 2:11pm | IP Logged | 2  

"Let's see... hmm... what to do with Jane Foster? What to do? Jeez! She's so uninteresting! I dunno, hmm... wait! I got it! I'll make her THOR...!  That's it! Ha ha! I'm a GREAT writer!"

Actually, Jason Aaron IS a great writer. There's a reason he gets Eisner noms, why his book SCALPED is lauded with praise, why his creator owned SOUTHERN BASTARDS has been optioned, and why his run on THOR has been called one of the best and up there with Simonson's.

And there is a reason why this new Jane Foster run of THOR has been connecting with fans, critics, and is doing great business for retailers. Because it's excellent!

Now, Michael, you've said that you haven't read it-- and that you don't intend to. So taking the time to insult it-- and to insult Jason's abilities as a writer speaks less about his run on THOR and way more towards the jaded cynicism that you can find online over in comic book message boards.

The story of the Jane Foster THOR isn't just "Wait! I got it! I'll make her Thor!" It's about what happened to Thor Odinson to make him unworthy so that not even he can lift his own hammer.